All for Joomla All for Webmasters

 “Find My iPhone” is one of the most usefu apps you can have on your iPhone. However, there are instances when you may need to disable the option. “Find My iPhone” was primarily designed to find the location of iPhone, in the case of loss or theft. However, if you intend to sell the device, it is essential to disable the app. If you are wondering how to disable find my iPhone, we have enlisted two simple options below for your help. Keep in mind that both options will need the Apple user ID and password that was used for the setup procedure.

  • Using your device – If you have access to your iPhone, you can deactivate the app from settings. Open the Settings tab and tap on iCloud. Here, you will find the option of ‘Find My iPhone.’ To deactivate, you need to type the correct Apple user ID and password and hit the option of ‘Turn off.’ This should get the task done, but in case you have any confusion, you will find many small tutorials on the web for help. If you are deactivating the app for selling the device, it is best to reset the iPhone to its original factory setting.

  • Using iCloud remotely – In rare cases, users do have issues in turning off the app. If you don’t have access to your device at the moment or need to turn it off remotely, you can use iCloud for the same purpose. However, the concerned iPhone must be turned off during the deactivation process. Open iCloud from your laptop/desktop and log in using the right Apple user ID and password. You will find a list of all devices registered on that ID and must select the one that you wish to sell. Select the X” mark next to your chosen device and you will find two options, namely “Remove from Account” and “Erase iPhone.”

If you select “Erase iPhone,” it will turn off the Find My iPhone app and the Activation Lock. This is a good option if you have lost the device passcode or the iPhone itself. On the other hand, “Remove Your Account” is a good choice if you have already erased the iPhone or have given the device to a third person.  With this option, you can delink the phone from your Apple user ID, because there’s no need to track iPhone location anymore.

Always choose the first process, especially if you have access to your device.

 

Marie Sofsian

Comments are closed.